I cut my own hair

I cut my hair. First resolution down! I actually crossed something off of my RRL. I can now rest all 2017. I did good. Woop! Woop!

Sometimes I procrastinate and sometimes I don’t. I like to surprise myself. We make a good team.

I decided to dedicate my last 2016 post to my hair. Maybe one day I will write something about my toes and my knees. Why not? Stay tuned.

So I recently cut my own hair by myself. Alone in my room. It is not my first time nor will it be my last. And I love it!

Why do I keep on cutting it by myself? Here is why:

I have a love/hate relationship with hairstylists:

The feeling it gives me:

Cutting my own hair gives me the feeling that I am in control. It is my hair and I can do whatever I want with it. I don’t have an emotional attachment to my hair and I never want to be known for a certain hairstyle, hair color or hair length. I love changes, I get bored easily and cutting it kinda give me satisfaction. I am not into extensions (yet) so growing it over night is still impossible. Sitting in my room, in front of the mirror, cutting strands of hair is a feeling of independence and freedom. It is not easy to explain especially to women who are afraid to have 1 inch cut off. I have been taking care of my hair for more than 15 years now: trims, full bangs, side bangs, big chops, ombres, henna dyes… I love braiding people’s hair, a lot. I sometimes cut my family members hair (I am still surprised that they trust me).

I live for spontaneity:

I don’t understand why some girls chop their hair off after a breakup. I will never associate my hair with failed relationships. If I liked my hair when I was in love why would I get rid of it when my heart got broken? It doesn’t make any sense to me (I hope I never write a post titled “Why I buzzed my head after my horrible breakup” though niahahaha). Getting a drastic haircut is of course associated with changes, but only the good ones. Cutting it whenever and wherever I want is simply the best. Not committing to a hairstylist’s appointment is amazing. I am weird.

My horrible recent hair journey:

I would rather invest in proper sheers, scissors, products and tools than in therapy sessions. My recent chop is related to a hairstylist event back in march 2015. The worst decision I took in my life. I went in for a rim, a dye and a smoothing treatment (for my long side bangs). I left the salon kinda happy, I was travelling to Paris for 3 months and I wanted to feel “new”. It was new alright. When I got there, I realized that in the middle of my hairline, (in the middle of my face) a piece of hair was missing, It was like it was buzzed. (I tend to part my hair sideways so I didn’t realize on the spot). I had burnt hair! The 2mm-long hairs had burnt ends! WTF?! The smoothing treatment didn’t work and the color damaged my hair. I was very angry but couldn’t do anything about it because I was so far far away. Yelling at my hairdresser wasn’t an option. I bought professional scissors and gave myself some bangs to cover the small burnt gap. It helped me cope with the consequences a little bit but not enough so I ended up chopping my hair off to make it look healthier. I let it grow, let it grow… I had a bob with grown bangs. Not a huge fan of this hairstyle. When my small strand reached the level of my eyebrows (after 6months) I cut my bangs again. I let it grow, let it grow… I was having regular trims, getting rid of my horrible color. I was happy with my long hair. But it wasn’t enough. The ends were still colored, damaged, sick, dead. A major chop was needed. So I did it! No more bangs, no more artificial color. My hair looks and feel healthier. It was a long journey to recovery (1year and 9months). Now I can peacefully let them grow  OR maintain the bob length. I am as excited as you for the future faith of my hair.

When I do it, I don’t follow a special technic, I just cut it how I think I should. I will never have even length hair; I don’t have eyes in the back of my head and I cannot use a back mirror and scissors at the same time, I just can’t, I am not gifted. The haircut is not perfect, of course. But who loves perfect anyways? When people hear that I do it by myself, they sometimes get shocked. They make me feel like I do my own stunts in movies I never play in. It is not a big deal for me. I feel proud though when people love the result. And if they don’t, I don’t really care. It makes me happy. Everyone should be happy with however they look. I love short and long hair, I am satisfied with whatever I have as long as I do it myself.

It was a long post. About hair. I am sorry. I am not sorry. I wanted to write about my hair and make it long.

So goodbye hair, goodbye 2016!

Happy New Year!

Sandr

P.S. I take appointments. Give me a call or send me an email. I am kidding, I hate appointments! Commitment issues.

Leave a Reply

