Are we defined by one career?

I studied nutrition and now I am an editor.

And no, I don’t write about food.

(It is not a real shitty tatto, it is my left hand trying to write on my right one for the only prupose of this photo…)

This is how I really feel about it.

*Being known for something, anything, and then drifting further and further away from THAT image* makes you feel stuff.

I ALWAYS feel kind of nostalgic and a little bit sad whenever I am having a conversation with people about healthy eating, and they go, “Oh wait, let me ask my nutritionist! Let me Google it! Let me conduct my own study on myself and come up with an answer!” I was supposed to know these things! I studied nutrition for 3 years and I did a 12-month internship in a hospital. WHERE DID ALL THE KNOWLEDGE GO? I also feel that I have lost my credibility. If I ever have an answer for a nutrition question, I can see that they are not convinced. Eyes – like hips – don’t lie. I don’t blame them. I don’t even trust my answers anymore. But, ironically, if someone ever says “Let’s ask Sandrine about the sudden effects of palm oil absorption on sleepy obese rats” I go through a mental panic attack, yelling to myself “Don’t ask me! Don’t ask me!” Well, I have mixed feelings about my previous studies. It is like an ex-boyfriend you broke up with because LONGDISTANCE. You got me? But it is okay. It is a choice I will never regret because it was all mine.

When I’ve decided to change careers, many thoughts ran through my mind:

“I wish I had more time after school to figure out what I really want to study.

I wish I wasn’t afraid to speak up.

I wish you a Merry Christmas.

I wish I hadn’t made that awful joke.

I wish I could still dream.

I wish it were not too late.”

But, hey, it is not too late. It is never too late. Don’t let anything or anyone tell you otherwise. I have met inspiring people who have traded their old jobs for new ones. Never ever give up on your dreams. A cliché sentence I live by!

After all my nutrition related activities, I had an amazing opportunity at working as a freelance editor and then as a full time one. I loved every single thing of it. So I decided to study “Information & Communication” in university and loved it even more. (I did some other stuff in between too, just for the fun)

Maybe someday I will do something totally different. I am excited to know I can.

I could go on and on in this post about this topic that is dearly to my heart, but I will stop FOR NOW because you have better things to do. I think.

At the end of the day, I don’t regret anything. It made me who I am and I am doing what I love. Oh, and I made amazing friends along the way. THIS is priceless.

The journey is bittersweet. Mainly sweet. With extra chocolate sauce.

It is just the beginning.

Sandr

Leave a Reply

